Since the entry into force of the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1999, the European Union has adopted an impressive number of regulations in the field of Private International Law in a broad sense. These regulations provide for uniform choice of law rules relating to contractual and non-contractual obligations, divorce and legal separation, matrimonial property and the property consequences of registered partnerships as well as succession. In addition, they provide for uniform rules relating to jurisdiction, recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments as well as the settlement of cross-border disputes more generally.

As a result of the European legislature’s activities, Private International Law has gradually become a truly European discipline. What is missing, however, is a truly pan-European forum to discuss issues of European Private International Law. Following a conference in Berlin in 2018, a group of Private International Law scholars from all over Europe* decided to found a European Association of Private International Law (EAPIL). The Association was established in 2019 to connect European scholars and to work towards a pan-European academic discourse about European Private International Law.

To make the Association known to a broad European audience and to finalise its establishment by holding its first general assembly, a conference will be held at Aarhus University (Denmark) from 2-4 June 2022. This conference will be the first official and founding conference of the Association. It will bring together academics and practitioners from all over Europe and provide a unique opportunity to discuss and consider European Private International Law in a pan-European fashion. Aarhus has been unanimously selected by the steering committee as the venue of the first conference thanks to the generous invitation by Morten M. Fogt.


* Apostolos Anthimos (Greece), Sabine Corneloup (France), Gilles Cuniberti (Luxembourg), Morten M. Fogt (Denmark), Pietro Franzina (Italy), Agnieszka Frackowiak-Adamska (Poland), Jan von Hein (Germany), Thomas Kadner Graziano (Switzerland), Eva-Maria Kieninger (Germany), Johan Meeusen (Belgium), Pedro de Miguel Asensio (Spain), Dario Moura Vicente (Portugal), Marta Requejo Isidro (Luxembourg), and Giesela Rühl (Germany).